Like most towns, Barmouth has a rich and colourful history. Its maritime traditions, Victorian heyday and then through to its popularity as a British seaside resort have all helped to create the town we love today.

Ty Gwyn is generally regarded as the oldest building in Barmouth. It was listed as one of four houses recorded in a survey of Creeks and Ports commissioned by Queen Elizabeth I in 1565.

In around 1470 it was designed to be a safe house for communications with the Earl of Pembroke, Jasper Tudor and his nephew, the future King Henry VII. They were planning an invasion of England and Ty Gwyn's location was more suitable than Cors Y Gedol. After all, they may suddenly need to escape via the sea.

Ty Gwyn Maritime Museum and Davy Joines' Locker

Ty Gwyn was restored in the 1980s with the emphasis on preserving its original appearance and today it is home to the a cafe on the ground floor (Davy Jones' Locker) and the Maritime Museum on the first floor.

Opened in 1999, it features historical articles and photographs of Barmouth as a port and the historical background to the building itself. It also houses 'treasure' discovered by Glaslyn Aqua Club.

In the late 1970s divers from Glaslyn found the wrecks of (possibly) two ships - one on top of another - just off the coast of the village of Dyffryn Ardudwy. Researchers believe that the ships foundered on the notorious St Patrick's causeway.

As well as a bronze bell dated 1677, divers found pure white marble thought to have originated from the Cararra quarries on Northern Italy. Some believe this marble was destined for London and St Pauls which was being restored after the Great Fire.

For more fascinating information and artefacts from the wreck, and much, much more, make sure you visit this museum.
Location: on the harbour, above Davy Jones' Locker.

Ty Crwn or The Round House

On the 21st October 1830, the freeholders and principals of Barmouth town held a meeting at the Cors-Y-Gedol Arms.

They were concerned that, as Barmouth became a busier seaport with an ever increasing number of visiting ships and their crews, more and more incidents of disorderly behaviour were occurring.

By the end of the meeting they had decided to build the Round House in which any drunkards could be detained until they were sober and the local court was sitting.

The building was completed in 1834. It consisted of two individual cells - one for women and one for men - with an external door for each.

Location: near the harbour, behind Ty Gwyn.

 

 

Barmouth History and Places of Interest

Like most towns, Barmouth has many buildings with an interesting historical story.

With its maritime background, and more recent popularity as a Victorian holiday resort, the town and its buildings reflect their influences from centuries past.

Barmouth Bridge circa 1890

Barmouth bridge circa 1890

We have put together some highlights to the more noteworthy places of interest. However, more detail can be provided by a book written by ourselves, the compilers of this website.

Discover Barmouth is a guide to Barmouth town and the very local area. It was written by ourselves, Owena and John, around 10 years ago and was very popular at the time of publication as there was no other guide to the local area.

We still have some copies left. If you would like to purchase one, call in at our shop, Luvit, on Barmouth high street (google maps) (Luvit website).

Most of the content for the following places of interest have been summarised from Discover Barmouth.

Joomla templates by a4joomla